LITTLE SEWER

My granddaughter decided she wanted to learn how to sew.  She is only 4, so what or more the case how to teach her to sew is the question.  I have tried to think of things that would be fun for her to participate in.  We have made two pincushions together, she has tried her hand at a needle and thread, and she has actually sewn on my sewing machine.  We had to put the foot pedal on a stool for her so she could reach.  She has learned to stop the machine and remove pins before continuing to sew.  (She especially likes putting pins in the pincushion)  We started a doll quilt and finished row 1 and pressed.  I lower the ironing board and watch closely that she doesn’t touch anything except the handle of the iron.  I will set the machine up to embroidery this week and hope she enjoys watching what lovely things can be stitched.  Also I will be on a hunt to find something in the form of a kit that is made for her age.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  I would like very much to hold her interest.  It matters not to me if she actually learns to sew at this age, it matters more that her interest is stirred at the possibilities of things that could be made if she learns to sew as she gets older.  So far I have two granddaughters that have shown an interest in needlework of one kind or another and since I do most of the common ones, that pleases me.  Not to say that the interests of the other grandchildren please me any less.  God makes us all so different and isn’t that wonderful!

Leave a Reply

