SUNNY WARM DAYS

May is my favorite time of year for many reasons.  It can always be counted on for at least some warm sunny days, the perennials that I plant the summer before begin to blossom. It is the month I was born in and in it is a day set aside to honor mothers.  My mother- in -law does not always know who we are when we visit her and my mother is in heaven . Mom liked Clematis flowers, so I planted one the first year I was here.  May is the time to plant flowers for the summer. It is the time to open up the windows and air out the house from the winters stuffiness and to wash off the dirt from them.  The bees begin to work on the blossoms and the Holly bushes blossom with the promise of berries in the fall and winter.  May reminds me of when I was a girl and planting flower seeds and having a hard time waiting for my Birthday to come to plant them.  Dad would always say, “Jeannie they won’t come up if you plant them before, it is too cold yet”.  I remember swinging under the Catalpa tree and putting the blossoms on my fingers and pretending to be a pretty lady.  I would curl up in the warm sun with my kittens and snooze.  May is a time for remembering and a time for making new memories and I am looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

